Constructing a Story from A to Z

This April I’m going to construct a story, sentence by sentence, right here on my blog using word prompts from a to z. I’ve been a big fan of the April’s A to Z Challenge for bloggers for years. It’s a fantastic way to test one’s blogging chops, get reconnected with fellow bloggers, and create a nice chunk of content for your personal blog. So, when it occurred to me that April was creeping around the corner, I started thinking about the possibility of throwing my hat in the ring, this time with my new blog.Only one question remained: what would be my theme? I hit the web looking for a writing challenge that was based in alphabet inspirations. Here’s what I found:

You start by coming up with a list of words, A-Z, for example: alligator, balloon, capital… Then once you have your list, come up with an original sentence using each word. Try to make them interesting and lengthy. You will end up with 26 original sentences. This is a good start, but if you want to do the full exercise, you must relate all the sentences together so they actually make a story. At the end you will have an original short story using words that start with every letter of the alphabet.

This is from the blog Connected Isolation.

This was perfect for me because, as a stay at home mom of a toddler, my world is filled with dangling alphabet words, and tons of board books on the subject. There is one book, in particular, that came to mind: ALPHABLOCK by Christopher Franceschelli. God help me, I purchased this beautiful book not knowing of its powers! Not only must we flip through this book on a daily basis, my son has it memorized – so even if the book is not on hand, we need to talk our way through all twenty-six words.

So I have my 26 words. This April I will create 26 separate sentences, hoping to interlock them into a short story – or at least the first draft of a story. I think it might be fun to watch the development of this from prompt, to sentences, to story, and then subsequent revisions. That is something I have longed to see from other writers – take me through your process! “They” say you must write the story you’ve been wanting to read, so here I’ll try to write the blog posts I have been looking for.

I hope you’ll join me for this April’s slow-motion start to a story’s birth. And then continue with me afterward as we re-read, rewrite, and revise the piece into something worthwhile. I’m looking forward to this!

I am entrant #1058 in a growing list of participants in the A to Z Challenge. To see the list to find other blogs to explore, or to enter yourself, head to the official A to Z Challenge (2016) Sign Up List.

In the comments section below, let me know what you think of this challenge. Have you done something like this before? Are you familiar with the ALPHABLOCK book? How would you go about selecting your 26 words if you took on this challenge?

29 thoughts on “Constructing a Story from A to Z

    1. I discovered ALPHABLOCK in one of my many trips to the bookstore for no reason at all. I like the book’s design and it has really captured my son’s attention.
      Thanks for your support. I hope my sentences entertain everyone and actually come together in the end!

      Like

  1. I haven’t seen Alphablock before, but when my kids were little we had so many A to Z books in the house. This will be fun theme to watch. I have a feeling someday your son will be super excited you wrote this story, and he will take full credit as your inspiration. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He wouldn’t be wrong! He is my inspiration to be a better me. I want to be a great mom, but also a woman he can be proud of too!
      I think the ALPHABLOCK book and the rest of the books that go with it (COUNTABLOCK and DINOBLOCK) are fairly new. I still don’t remember how they caught my eye, but I’m happy they did.

      Like

Leave a Reply

