Story A Day May 2016

StoryADay500x500Well, ladies and gents, I found a thing.Story A Day May is exactly what it sounds like. It’s a month long challenge for me to write a different story every day of May. While I am not typically a pessimist, I do not foresee 31 stories coming out of me by the end of this month, but I’m reaching for the stars anyway.

I found out about this thanks to one of my favorite podcast obsessions – DIYMFAradio. It was from an episode I should have listened to earlier than this morning (thereby giving me more time to prepare for this writing feat), but I’m happy I discovered it in time to join the May madness right at the beginning of the month! While I would love to go on ad infinitum about why I love DIYMFA and why I think Story A Day is the right fit for me right now, I think I should get to work on my first story of the month, don’t you? There’s little time to waste – I only have today to work on it, tomorrow will have to be something new!

QUESTIONS FOR YOU:

  • Do you think I am crazy for doing this?
  • Do you write every day?
  • In terms of writing challenges, which do you prefer – this idea of a different story every day of the month, or something like NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) – a challenge to write one long novel-length story by the end of a month?
8 thoughts on “Story A Day May 2016

  1. I don’t think you’re crazy for trying a challenge like this. I think it gives you focus, allows for creativity to flourish. I imagine it must be hard coming up with new ideas for each day of the month. I have trouble coming up with one idea for a short story. But I think something like this forces you to think outside the box. Good luck with this challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As for if I write every day, I don’t. I really don’t think about it. I just write whenever there is opportunity. I think I need to be more aware of those opportunities when they arrive.

    Like

    1. Part of what pushed me to jump on the impulse to join this challenge is a desire to find those daily opportunities. I think if I can go a whole month with writing every single day, then maybe I have a shot at keeping this habit up!

      Like

      1. This challenge certainly pushes the motivation to do so. Every month, I try to write something every day, but there’s that one day where I don’t feel the inspiration to write. As much as I try to push through, the desire just isn’t there. But I think what keeps me is time and putting pressure on myself to write. A combination of those things puts me off writing something. What I’ve learned is not to put pressure on myself and find opportunities to write whenever I can. It might not be every day, or be at the same time every day. But knowing I wrote something is rewarding enough.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. My philosophy this month is if I miss one day not to think of it as a month-long failure. If I miss one day, I will do my best to shake it off and try to pick up the next day!

        Like

Leave a Reply

